Stormy night at the castle

The wind whistled through the cracks in the aged castle; rattling the ancient window frames.  I peeped through the dusty, tatty curtains; the rain was lashing against the panes of glass.

I felt that on this stormy night the whole castle had come to life.  Terrified, I stared out onto the vast, overgrown garden.  A feeling of uneasiness came over me. Suddenly, it came down the drain pipe.  I stood startled, still like a statue.  The mist rose and formed the shape of Great, Great Aunt Mary.  The shape floated creepily towards the castle graveyard.

Suddenly, an ear splitting crash, the old horse chestnut tree had fallen clumsily on the carpet like lawn.  I turned back, the shape was gone!

One thought on “Stormy night at the castle

  1. I love the way that you use expanded noun phrases and metaphors to make me picture your writing in my mind. Keep up this excellent work Daniel!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *